Louth Choral Society Autumn Concert

Louth Choral Society will present their autumn concert of three French Masterworks at St James’s Church, Louth on Sunday 20th November at 7.30pm.

The Gloria by Francis Poulenc, scored for soprano solo, large orchestra, and chorus, is a setting of the Roman Catholic Gloria in Excelsis Deo text and is considered one of Poulenc’s most celebrated works.

Multi award winner, Ruth Jenkins, features as soprano soloist and will be a joy to listen to. Her awards include the Hildegard Zadek Stiftung in Vienna 2015, Opera Now’s Artist of the Month for February 2014,   John Scott Award from the Scottish Opera Endowment Trust, 2012 Kathleen Ferrier Awards, the 2011 Leonard Ingrams Award from Garsington Opera and a Samling Scholar.

Maurice Duruflé ‘s  Requiem, dedicated to the memory of his father, is a work for four part choir, Lincolnshire Chamber Orchestra will accompany.

Pavane pour une infante défunte (Pavane for a Dead Princess) is a well-known piece written by the French composer Maurice Ravel, scored for flutes, oboe, clarinets, bassoons, horns, harp, and strings. Ravel described the piece as “an evocation of a pavane that a little princess [infanta] might, in former times, have danced at the Spanish court”.

Tickets are now available from Eve & Ranshaw, Louth, by telephone 01507 463410 or visit www. louthchoral.co.uk. Reserved seating £15 with under 18’s £7, unreserved £10, under 18’s free.   Ticket offer of ‘buy 5 and get 6th free’ applies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s